Warning: Unexpected character in input: '' (ASCII=15) state=0 in /home/u463798123/domains/alhalal.org/public_html/index.php on line 1
FAQs – قطاوة

Accreditation

Accreditation is a formal, independent verification that a program or institution meets established quality standards and is competent to carry out specific conformity assessment tasks. Conformity assessment tasks may include, but are not limited to, testing, inspection, or certification.

Certification

Formal procedure by which an accredited or authorized person or agency assesses and verifies (and attests in writing by issuing a certificate) the attributes, characteristics, quality, qualification, or status of individuals or organizations, goods or services, procedures or processes, or events or situations, in accordance with established requirements or standards.

FAQ

What the authority HALAL has to issue Halal certification? Who has given the authority to HALAL to issue the said certification?

Based on the companies act on which HALAL is incorporated it is clearly mentioned and approved by the registrar of companies that the sole purpose of this institution being set up is for the issuance of Halal certification.

What is the cost of obtaining a Halal Certificate?

The cost of the certification depends on various factors, such as, industry, size of the organization, nature of the business, distance of the premises that needs to be audit. Based on these factors, the cost of the certification is arrived.

Most of tooth past are using Benzyl Alcohol, is it Halal or Haram?

For your information “Benzyl alcohol” is Halal. It’s produced naturally by many plants and is commonly found in fruits and teas. It is used as a bactericide (kills bacteria) in personal care formulations and it does not cause intoxication, therefore it is classed as Halal, even though its chemical name contains the word ‘Alcohol’.

Is it possible to determine the Halal status of a product by looking at the E-Numbers listed on the pack?

Generally products are made by many raw materials out of that,  only some them are food additives and only food additives are represented by E-numbers. Most of the ingredients that are represented by E numbers, can be either of animal or plant or microbial  or chemical or mineral origin and requires to be investigated. Halal status of a food additive cannot be decided based only on the E Number. It would be difficult for the common layman to distinguish halal status of raw materials as most of the raw materials can be derived from more than one source. Therefore, there is a need for a stringent screening of the raw materials by their party certification such as Halal certification used for respective status. It is highly advised to the Halal consumers to go for Halal certified products.

What are Glycerides?

Mono and di-glycerides are fatty substances that are used as emulsifiers. Emulsifiers are compounds used to keep oils or fats and water dispersed in one phase (i.e., they prevent oil and water from separating).

Mono and di-glycerides can be derived from animal or vegetable sources. When derived from vegetable sources, they are halal. When derived from animal sources, they are almost always derived from fat of animals that have not been slaughtered in a halal manner. Mono- and di-glycerides are used in a wide variety of products, including baked goods, peanut butter, margarine, shortening, and other products.

What are the HALAL compliance certified Ice Cream?

What is Cochineal (E 120)?

It is a deep crimson dye which is extracted from the female cochineal insects. Cochineal is used to produce scarlet, orange and other red tints. The colouring comes from carminic acid. Cochineal extract’s natural carminic-acid content is usually 19–22%. The insects are killed by immersion in hot water (after which they are dried) or by exposure to sunlight, steam, or the heat of an oven. Each method produces a different colour which results in the varied appearance of commercial cochineal. The insects must be dried to about 30 percent of their original body weight before they can be stored without decaying. It takes about 80,000 to 100,000 insects to make one kilogram of cochineal.

Is HALAL a commercial Entity established to make Profits?

We are a Not for Profit Organization established as a Guarantee Company. All revenue generated is reinvested for process improvement and if any excess funds, they will be used for selected national causes.

Why would HALAL terminate a Halal Compliance Certificate?

Either on Mutual agreement with the company or for breach of terms & conditions

What is the difference between Halal and Halal-certified food?

‘Halal’ is an Arabic word which means lawful or permissible. Any food or drink which falls under this category is permitted for Muslim consumption. Examples of Halal food include vegetables, spices and meat deriving from animals slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic Law.

‘Halal Compliance certified’ refers to products which have been endorsed as Halal by a credible Islamic body (third-party certification). Often times, Halal certification involves a series of steps including ingredient verification, inspection/audit and approval by committee. In general, all Halal-certified products are Halal, but not all Halal products are Halal-certified.

I would like to know if Whey is Halaal?

Whey / whey protein is a by-product of cheese manufacture. As long as the rennet enzymes used in cheese manufacture is from either Microbial/plant origin or sourced from a Halaal slaughtered animal, the product would be deemed Halaal.

Are there E Numbers solely from animal sources?

Yes, there are few additives which are “always” of animal origin, such as:

E120 Cochineal : a red colour obtained from female insects

E441 Gelatine : derived from the bones and/ or hides of cattle and/ or pigs

E542 Edible Bone Phosphate : an extract from animal bones

Whilst some additives with a common code such as E471, can be either of animal or plant origin and this latter type needs to be investigated on a case-by-case basis per product/ manufacturer.

May We Eat Gelatin?

Gelatin is a protein product obtained from the collagen of vertebrates, including pigs, cattle and fish. It is recovered by hydrolysis. The main raw materials used today are pigskins, cattle bones and cattle hide. Of these, the most common source is pigskins. Gelatin is used in the preparation of baked goods, ice cream, yogurt, jellies and many other confectionaries. It is also used in the medical and pharmaceutical industry. If the word gelatine appears on a label without reference to its source, it is generally derived from pig skins and cattle bones, so it must be avoided otherwise refer if the particular product is Halal certified.

It is possible to produce halal gelatin by using the bones and hides of halal slaughtered cattle. In such a case, the gelatin would be certified halal and labeled as halal gelatin. Certified halal gelatin made from fish bones or halal slaughtered cattle is now available for the food and pharmaceutical industry

Is Lecithin Halal?

Lecithin is an emulsifier. It is found in plants such as soybeans, in egg yolks and in other animal sources. Emulsifiers are compounds used to keep oils or fats and water dispersed in one phase (i.e., they prevent oil and water from separating).

If the lecithin is derived from plants, egg yolks or halal animals slaughtered according to Islamic law, it is Halal. Otherwise it is not.

What are E No’s?

E-Numbers represent specific food additives, used by the industry in the manufacture of various food products. These E-Numbers have been formulated by the European Economic Community (EEC) and are universally adopted by the food industry worldwide.

What can possibly be non-Halal in yogurt?

Almost all yogurt has gelatin or a stabiliser which can be derived from non-Halal sources such as pig.

How can fruit drinks be not Halal?

Most of the fruit drinks we drink is not 100% natural, additives such as flavorings and stabilisers can be from non halal sources. For example, the famous red coloring (E120) is derived from squashing insects.